Government Support

Transforming the Former Police Married Quarters into Creative Industries Landmark – PMQ

The PMQ project is one of the eight projects under the "Conserving Central" initiative announced by the Chief Executive in his 2009-10 Policy Address.

Responding to the views collected in a public engagement exercise in 2008, the PMQ revitalisation project capitalises on the uniqueness of the Site and brings together three project objectives, namely:-

  • promotion of creative industries
  • heritage conservation
  • provision of local open space

The Secretary for Development (on 15 November 2010) announced to transform the former Police Married Quarters on Hollywood Road into a creative industries landmark named "PMQ" by the Musketeers Education and Culture Charitable Foundation Ltd. (Musketeers Foundation), with the support of Hong Kong Design Centre, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, and Hong Kong Design Institute of the Vocational Training Council.

A new partnership model has been adopted for this project

The Government financed the essential structural and building services works; while the Operator is responsible for the capital costs for renovation and interior decoration beyond the Government works, as well as the operating expenditure for management, operation and maintenance of the revitalised Site. This arrangement also helps expediting the delivery of the project.

The Musketeers Foundation has set up a special purpose company, which has acquired charitable status under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112), for the implementation of the project and future day-to-day operation of the revitalised Site. To facilitate longer-term business planning for the project, the Government has entered into a tenancy agreement with the above-mentioned special purpose company on a fixed term of ten years, renewable for another five years. For the delivery and future operation of the revitalised facilities at the PMQ site, any net operating surplus arising from the operation of the "PMQ" project will be shared between the Government and the operator every five years on a 50/50 basis. It is not an objective of the "PMQ" project to maximise profit and the Musketeers Foundation has committed to ploughing back its share of the net operating surplus for the operation of the creative industries landmark.

The Government works closely with the selected non-profit-making organisation (i.e. Musketeers Foundation) and the local creative industries to implement the revitalisation project.

Videos
Mrs. Carrie Lam, GBS, JP

Secretary for Development
Press Conference: 2010.11.15

Mr. Bernard Chan, GBS, JP

Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Revitalisation of Historic Buildings
Press Conference: 2010.11.15

Mr. Alan Siu, JP

Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology)
Press Conference: 2010.11.15

政府支持

改造前已婚警察宿舍成为标志性的创意中心 – PMQ 元创方

在2008年有关公众谘询所收集的意见中,公众认为有关原址活化项目应善用该地的独有元素,并达致下列三项政策目标:

  • 推广创意产业
  • 文物保育
  • 提供邻舍休憩用地

行政长官于2009/10年的《施政报告》中公布,荷李活道前已婚警察宿舍 (原址) 是「保育中环」措施中八个项目之一。

发展局局长于2010年11月15日公布,将由同心教育文化慈善基金会有限公司 (「同心基金」) 牵头,联同香港设计中心、香港理工大学和职业训练局辖下的香港知专设计学院,负责活化原址成为标志性的创意中心,名为「PMQ元创方」。

崭新的伙伴合作模式

由政府负责进行原址的基本结构及屋宇装备工程,及支付有关工程费用;而营运机构则承担政府工程以外的修葺工程费用,以及配合计划用途的装修费用,并负责构思、营运、管理和保养,此合作模式将有助加快此项目的发展。

同心基金为此活化项目的营运,已成立一间具备《税务条例》(第112章)第88条所界定的慈善团体身份的特设公司 (「营运机构」)。营运机构将获批十年固定租期,其后可申请续租五年。政府相信上述安排将有助营运机构,就经营此项目作出较长远的规划。另外,任何经营所得的盈余净额,将由营运机构和政府每五年摊分一次,各占一半。事实上,营运机构的目标并非追求最大盈余净额,而同心基金亦承诺将其所得的盈余净额投放回此项目,作持续发展之用。 

发展局、商务及经济发展局和建筑署将会与营运机构及本港创意产业界紧密合作,落实此活化计划。

短片
林郑月娥女士, GBS, JP

发展局局长
记者会: 2010.11.15

陈智思先生, GBS, JP

活化历史建筑谘询委员会主席
记者会: 2010.11.15

萧如彬先生, JP

商务及经济发展局副秘书长(通讯及科技)
记者会: 2010.11.15