Central School The Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters PMQ

PMQ, “Police Married Quarters”, is a revitalisation project initiated by the HKSAR Government in 2009. With more than a century of history and counting, the site first served as the Central School’s campus, then as the dormitory for rank-and-file police officers and today, a creative landmark.

The story began with the establishment of the Central School in 1862, the first government school in Hong Kong to provide western education to the public at the upper primary and secondary levels. Originally, the campus was built at Gough Street, north of Hollywood Road, but in 1889 it was renamed as Victoria College and relocated to a site at the junction of Aberdeen Street and Hollywood Road ―the locale of today’s PMQ. In 1894, the school was finally renamed as Queen’s College. The school buildings at Hollywood Road were severely damaged during World War II and was later demolished. The site was then reconstructed into the Police Married Quarters in 1951.

The Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters was the first of its kind to provide official residence for the married police staff and their families. These included local ethnic Chinese rank-and-file officers amongst its intended users. It provided 140 single room units and 28 double room units as a convenient residence to officers serving at the nearby Central Police Station. It was left vacant since 2000.

In October 2009, the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters was preserved as one of the eight projects in the Hong Kong Policy Address’ initiatives - “Conserving Central”, which was implemented by the Development Bureau. In November 2010, the project was awarded to the Musketeers Education and Culture Charitable Foundation Limited, with the support of Hong Kong Design Centre, Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the Hong Kong Design Institute of the Vocational Training Council. The yearning for a space dedicated to creative industries in Hong Kong has led to the inception of PMQ. Today, PMQ has become the creative platform in supporting up and coming creative talent as well as fostering a community of patrons and lovers of creativity, design and heritage.

Highlights of Event

1862

Central School established at Gough Street.

1884

Dr. Sun Yat-sen studied in the Central School.

1889



Central School moved to Hollywood Road and was renamed as Victoria College.

1894

It was finally renamed as Queen’s College.

1941

During the Japanese Occupation, the school was temporarily closed and occupied by the Japanese. It was used as the headquarters of a contingent of Japanese cavalry. The school building then caught fire and was razed to the ground towards the end of the war.

1947

Queen’s College moved to temporary campus at Kennedy Road.

1948

The school buildings were demolished for the construction of the Police Married Quarters.

1951

The Police Married Quarters established.

1981

One of the buildings serving as the Hollywood Road Police Primary School was converted into the Central Junior Police Call Clubhouse.

2000

All residents had evacuated from the quarters.

2005 - 2007

The Antiquities and Monuments Office (AMO) had conducted several investigations at the site to review its heritage value, and found remnants of the Central School within and around the site.

2007

The Government announced that the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters would be removed from the List of Sites for Sale by Application.

2010

The AMO rated the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters as Grade 3 Historic Building in Hong Kong.

The Secretary for Development announced that the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters would be transformed into a creative industries landmark named “PMQ” by the Musketeers Education and Culture Charitable Foundation Ltd. (Musketeers Foundation), with the support of Hong Kong Design Centre, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Hong Kong Design Institute of the Vocational Training Council.

2012

Commencement of the renovation under the supervision of the Architectural Services Department.

2014



PMQ started its operation.

Remark

Special thanks to the following organizations in granting the right to use the above photographs: (in alphabetical order)

  • Antiquities and Monuments Office
  • Information Services Department
  • Public Records Office of the Government Records Service
We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.

中央书院 前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍 元创方

PMQ曾为已婚警察宿舍(Police Married Quarters),是香港特区政府于2009年提出的活化项目。该址拥有超过一百年历史,最初为“中央书院”的校舍,其后改建成第一所员佐级警员的已婚警察宿舍,现已成为香港的创意设计地标。

元创方的历史由中央书院于1862年建校开始,是香港第一所为公众提供高小和中学程度的西式教育官立学校。中央书院的旧校舍位于荷李活道以北的歌赋街,1889年,书院易名为维多利亚书院,并迁往鸭巴甸街及荷李活道交界—亦即元创方的现址。1894年,中央书院最后改名为皇仁书院。书院在第二次世界大战期间受到严重破坏并被拆除,其后于1951年改建为已婚警察宿舍。

前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍是香港首个为华籍已婚员佐级警员提供的住所,提供了140个一房及28个两房的单位,为邻近的中环警署的员佐级警员及其家眷提供方便的住所。宿舍自2000年起空置。

在2009年10月,前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍被纳入《施政报告》中,亦是发展局辖下八个“保育中环”项目的其中一项。在2010年11月 ,同心教育文化慈善基金会有限公司获得这个活化项目,并得到香港设计中心、香港理工大学和职业训练局辖下的香港知专设计学院的支持,把前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍共同活化成“元创方”。“元创方”就是在一片寻找专注发展香港创意工业地方的渴望和诉求中成立。现今“元创方”为香港创意文化发展中带来一股活力,并建立一个为创意、设计和历史爱好者而设的创新平台。

大事记

1862

中央书院成立,地点位于歌赋街。

1884

国父孙中山曾在此就读。

1889



中央书院迁往荷李活道,改名为维多利亚书院。

1894

书院最后改名为皇仁书院。

1941

日治期间,书院被逼停办并被日军占领,校舍成为日军骑兵部队司令部,其后遭战火严重破坏。

1947

皇仁书院搬至坚尼地道的临时校舍。

1948

校舍全面拆卸,并改建为已婚警察宿舍。

1951

荷李活道已婚警察宿舍建成。

1981

宿舍其中一个建筑物曾为荷李活道警察子弟学校,后被改为中区少年警讯会所。

2000

宿舍居民全数搬出。

2005 - 2007

古物古迹办事处进行数次勘测,并在该址范围和周围发现中央书院遗迹。

2007

政府宣布前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍用地从政府勾地表中剔出。

2010

古物古迹办事处将前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍评级为三级历史建筑。

发展局局长公布,将由同心教育文化慈善基金会有限公司(“同心基金”) 牵头,联同香港设计中心、香港理工大学和职业训练局辖下的香港知专设计学院,负责活化前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍成为标志性的创意中心,名为“PMQ元创方”。

2012

建筑署监督下,活化工程展开。

2014



“元创方”开始运作。

备注

特别鸣谢以下机构(按英文名称排序)提供及允许使用以上照片:

  • 古物古迹办事处
  • 政府新闻处
  • 香港政府档案处 - 历史档案馆
We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.