MILESTONE

1889 - 1948

CENTRAL SCHOOL

2009 - PRESENT

PRESENT: PMQ

2009 OCTOBER

“Conserving Central”: The PMQ project was announced as one of the eight projects under the “Conserving Central” initiative by the Chief Executive in his 2009 -10 Policy Address.

2009 NOVEMBER-DECEMBER

DETOUR 2009: PMQ served as the anchor venue of DETOUR 2009, organised by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design.

2010 JANUARY

Hong Kong Jockey Club – Heritage x Arts x Design Walk 2010: PMQ served as the anchor venue of H.A.D. Walk, organised by HULU Culture.

2010 MARCH

Inviting proposals: The Development Bureau and the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau jointly invited proposals in March 2010 from interested organisations for the transformation of the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters (PMQ) into a creative industries landmark.

2010 NOVEMBER

Official announcement: The Secretary for Development (on 15 November 2010) announced that the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters (PMQ) would be transformed into a creative industries landmark named “PMQ” by the Musketeers Education and Culture Charitable Foundation Ltd. (Musketeers Foundation), with the support of Hong Kong Design Centre, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Hong Kong Design Institute of the Vocational Training Council.

2011 JULY

Funding approved: Funding for conservation and revitalisation works of the project has been approved to the Architectural Services Department by the Finance Committee of Legislative Council.

2011 NOVEMBER-DECEMBER

DETOUR 2011: PMQ served as the anchor venue of DETOUR 2011, organised by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design. PMQ also hosted an Exhibition and Workshop, and supported a Marathon Forum.

2012

Branding Development: PMQ invited 2 leading branding consultants (KOTRAPUNKT from Denmark and KAN & LAU Design Consultants from Hong Kong), together with 2 design students from The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the Hong Kong Design Institute respectively, to work out the innovative brand identity with 1,000 different logo variations for everybody to mix and match their own combination of “PMQ” .

2012 JANUARY

Commencement of Renovation, under the supervision of the Architectural Services Department

2012 MARCH

Hoarding Design: PMQ invited 18 local designers to design their dream studios at PMQ for the hoarding displayed at Staunton Street.

2012 DECEMBER

Open invitation for tenancy proposals for Studio Units, Restaurants & Shops

2012 DECEMBER

“PMQ: Co-creation” Exhibition: PMQ, teaming up with the experimental design collective CoLAB and five multi-disciplinary design units in Hong Kong, presented “PMQ: Co-creation” exhibition during the “BODW 2012” at the Inspiration Hall, HKTDC Inno Tech Design Expo, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

2013 NOVEMBER – DECEMBER

DETOUR 2013: organised by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design, with its opening ceremony held at Plateau 4 of PMQ on 29 November, followed by the 10-day exhibition, ‘White Plinths Installation’ and workshops.

2013 DECEMBER

“We Are PMQ” Exhibition: PMQ, teaming up with Amazing Angle Design Consultants Limited, presented “We Are PMQ” exhibition during the “BODW 2013” at the Inspiration Hall, HKTDC Inno Tech Design Expo, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

2014

PMQ soft opening

REMARK

Special thanks to the following organisations in granting the right to use the above plans and photographs: (in alphabetical order)

  • Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design
  • HULU Culture

元创方事件簿

1889 - 1948

中央书院

2009 - 現在

今天的元创方

2009年10月

行政长官于2009/10年的《施政报告》中公布,前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍(原址)是「保育中环」措施中八个项目之一。

2009年11-12月

DETOUR 2009: 由香港设计大使主办,以前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍作为主展场。

2010年1月

2010年香港赛马会「港文化‧港创意」由文化葫芦主办,以前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍作为主展场。

2010年3月

邀请提交建议书: 2010年3月,发展局和商务及经济发展局发出邀请,征求有兴趣的机构和企业提交建议书,把前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍改造成为标志性的创意中心。

2010年11月

正式公布: 发展局局长于11月15日公布,将由同心教育文化慈善基金会有限公司(「同心基金」) 牵头,联同香港设计中心、香港理工大学和职业训练局辖下的香港知专设计学院,负责活化原址成为标志性的创意中心,名为「PMQ元创方」。

2011年7月

批准拨款: 建筑署得到立法会财务委员会批准拨款予这个项目,进行保育和活化工程。

2011年11月-12月

DETOUR 2011: 由香港设计大使主办,其一系列主要活动于前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍举行。同场元创方亦设有展览、工作坊及论坛与公众互动。

2012

品牌标志︰元创方邀请了两间知名的品牌顾问公司,包括︰丹麦的KOTRAPUNKT及香港的靳与刘设计携手合作,联同分别来自香港理工大学和香港知专设计学院的2位同学,创出“PMQ”的崭新品牌标志,有1,000个不同组合任人自由选择。

2012年1月

建筑处监督下,活化工程展开

2012年3月

元创方邀请了18位本地设计师,各自绘画梦寐以求的创意工作室设计图,于士丹顿街的工程围板上展示。

2012年12月

邀请有兴趣租用创意工作室、餐饮及商店的人士递交建议书。

2012年12月

「共创• PMQ」展览:PMQ伙拍设计实验平台CoLAB,并联同五个来自不同界别的本地设计单位,于设计年度盛事「设计营商周2012」期间,在香港贸发局举办的设计及创新科技博览创意馆内,举办名为「共创• PMQ」展览。

2013年11月-12月

DETOUR 2013: 由香港设计大使主办,开幕礼于11月29日在PMQ第四号台阶举行,作为揭开其后10天活动的序幕,其间设有统一的白色层架系列为大型装置设计品,以及与公众互动的工作坊。

2013年12月

「We Are PMQ」展览:PMQ伙拍Amazing Angle Design Consultants Limited,于设计年度盛事「设计营商周2013」期间,在香港贸发局举办的设计及创新科技博览创意馆内,举办名为「We Are PMQ」展览。

2014

PMQ试业

备注

特别鸣谢以下机构(按英文名称排序)提供及允许使用以上平面图及照片:

  • 香港设计大使
  • 文化葫芦