文化生活 #52

都市养蜂

斯洛文尼亚

撰文: Sim
图片: Sim

近年大家都在讨论蜜蜂集体死亡现象,假如蜜蜂绝种,人类也活不了多久。世界各地大量农产品, 尤其是果树, 都依赖蜜蜂授粉才会生长,因此蜜蜂的消失间接加剧全球粮食危机。 为引起大众关注,今年联合国把5月20日定为首个世界蜜蜂日,提出这建议的,竟是不起眼的中欧小国斯洛文尼亚。

养蜂是斯国重要传统,当地每1000人当中有5个是养蜂人,大部分是业馀的hobby beekeeper,近年这传统由乡郊蔓延到首都卢比安纳,令她成为都市养蜂的热点。

年过60的Franc是卢城都市养蜂的第一人,他得知在法国一间歌剧院的天台有人养蜂,于是他向任职的文化中心Cankerjev Dom(下称CD)建议在天台养蜂,上头马上答应,自2011年他便开始在这文化地标的天台养蜂,每星期抽两小时工作时间照顾蜜蜂。

他不採用斯国引以为傲的传统AZ蜂屋(下图左),而引进欧美流行的LR蜂箱(下图右),好处是佔地少,而且可以按需要而增减蜂箱,其高灵活性更适合市区环境。

由最初的4个蜂箱养到现在十多个。每个箱平均每年生产20公斤蜜糖,所有蜜糖交由CD用作商业赠品。「一开始很多人质疑市区出品的蜜糖会受污染,但我们把蜜糖拿到德国化验,结果品质甚至比乡郊出产的更好!」

别看Franc跟数十万隻蜜蜂打交道时气定神閒,他可是对蜂针过敏,得定期注射毒液产生抗体。而且养蜂不如想像中轻鬆,如头一年的冬天,他的蜜蜂因害虫而全军覆没,第二年从头来过。这种不确定性也是养蜂最吸引的地方:「我喜欢看着每一年新生命的诞生以及不同蜜蜂家族的成长,看牠们如何跟大自然互动。」

除了CD,城市内还有多不胜数的养蜂点,如Franc的徒弟、影评人Gorazd推出租蜂箱计划,客人向他付年费,并提供地方,他就负责照顾蜜蜂和提供蜜糖。

外国领事馆、学校、酒店、议会等等五十个不同地点,都是蜜蜂的栖息地,出产的蜜糖大多用作宣传、商业赠品及教育用途,令蜜蜂变相成了这些机构的最佳形象和宣传大使。

对他而言:「养蜂是我于城市中仍能跟大自然保持连繫的渠道。」

如今卢城内有至少300个养蜂人,照顾着过亿隻蜜蜂,是真正的人蜂共生。

都市养蜂不是新鲜事,各大城市如伦敦、汉堡、纽约,以至香港都曾有人实验于闹市养蜂,但少有能够像卢比安纳般发展得如此强大,政府政策上的支持尤其藉得借镜,例如当市政府规划绿化时,须咨询植物园,优先选择原生和会开花的「蜜蜂友善」植物。

当地养蜂协会定期开办免费的养蜂课程,政府更出钱补助养蜂新手购买工具,难怪愈来愈多年轻人加入养蜂行列,连带消费者也倾向直接向养蜂人买蜜糖多于光顾连锁商店,在资本主义市场以外,提供一个更在地而人性化的蜜糖交易市场。

Leisure & Culture #52

Urban Beekeeping

Slovenia

Text by Sim
Photo by Sim
Translated by Derek Leung

The recent discussion on the collective death of bees sparks the hypothesis that humans can neither live long if the bees are extinct, due to the fact that the global food crisis will indirectly aggravate since a large number of agricultural products around the world, especially fruit trees, rely on bee pollination to grow. In order to arouse public awareness and effective from this year, May 20th is designated by United Nations as the first ever World Bee Day, following the proposal raised by Slovenia, an insignificant country in central Europe.

Beekeeping is a tradition of importance in Slovenia. Five out of every 1,000 citizens keep bees and most of whom are amateur “hobby beekeepers”. In recent years, more of such a countryside practice can be found in the capital of Ljubljana, turning the city to be an urban hotspot for keeping these insects.

The 60-year-old Franc is the first person in urban beekeeping in Ljubljana. Having learnt that bees are kept on the rooftop of an opera house in France, he proposed the same to the cultural center Cankerjev Dom (CD) for which he works. The immediate greenlight from the management allowed him to keep bees on the toppest level of this cultural landmark by spending two hours weekly to take care of them.

Contrary to the traditional AZ bee house (image on left as below) that Slovenia takes pride in, the LR beehive (image on right as below) enjoying popularity in Europe and America is introduced to this Europesn country for smaller spatial need and higher flexibility in beehive placement especially for the urban environment.

From four beehives at the beginning to more than ten at the moment, 20 kilograms of honey can be produced per hive per year and all this sweet nutrient iis handed over to CD as a commercial giveaway. "At the beginning, many people doubted if the honey produced in the city would be polluted, but the test in Germany proved the quality of our honey was even better than that produced in the countryside!"

While Franc looks easy in dealing with hundreds of thousands of bees, he is required to take regular injections of venom to produce antibodies against his allergy to bee needles. Furthermore, beekeeping is not as simple as imagined. His bees are completely annihilated by pests in the first winter and he has to restart everything in the second year. That said, the uncertainty is indeed the very point of attraction for such a practice. "I like watching the annual birth of new lives and the growth of different bee families which represent their interaction with Nature."

In addition to the CD, there are countless beekeeping spots in the city. Gorazd, a film critic and Franco's apprentice, even offers a beehive for hire programme where guests pay him an annual fee and provides the place for his services of taking care of bees and providing honey.

Some 50 different locations including but not limited to foreign consulates, schools, hotels, parliaments are invariably the habitats for bees and the honey produced is mainly used for publicity, commercial gifts and educational purposes, making bees the best publicity ambassadors for these parties.

"Beekeeping is the channel with which I can still connect with Nature in the city,” claimed Franc.

At present, a minimum of 300 beekeepers live and look after hundreds of millions of bees in Ljubljana, showing the coexistence of both humans and bees in reality.

While urban beekeeping is also present in metropolises such as London, Hamburg, New York and even Hong Kong, with some people experimenting this in the downtown area, no cities can be compared to Ljubljana in terms of development. What is most worth learning is that their municipal government consult the botanical garden about the preferential nurturing of "bee-friendly" primitive and flower-bearing plants when the green policy has to be implemented.

Local beekeeping associations will offer regular free beekeeping courses whereas the necessary tools for beekeeping novices can be subsidized by the public shroff, resulting undoubtedly in an increase of young beekeepers and consumers who prefer buying honey directly from beekeepers to chain stores, and even further a more down-to-earth and humanized honey trading space beyond the capitalist market.