文化生活 #29

老爸很蓝

黎嘉玲

撰文 Kit Chan
翻译 v_p
图片 Kit Chan

那是肥皂剧一般的情节──某日亲友赫然披露:你在三岁以前,跟爸爸分隔两地,没有一起生活。

主角一般晴天霹雳,但嘉玲没被震撼,心头只有惭愧:「原来阿爸曾经好苦,小老婆女不在身边,怎样熬过去?」

时间回到1991年。移民潮开始卷起,嘉玲爸爸把一家几口送到澳洲生活,独个留港工作,而嘉玲那时还在妈妈肚里;直到三岁,一家人才终于在香港团聚。

「或者年纪太小?我是完全记不起人生有过这么一段。」嘉玲有点茫然:「现在的人老说Long-D(遥距关系)好惨好惨,但我刚出世就跟阿爸Long-D了!」。

故事尚有后续。得知「身世」没多久,服装品牌WHOSTHATshop找她合作办展览,并抛出一道题目:褪色的回忆。

嘉玲马上把家中旧照翻出,借助一种古老传统,重塑消失的空白──那是蓝晒(Cyanotype)技术,英国物理学家John Herschel于1842年发明,本来应用于复印手稿;后来英国植物学家兼摄影师Anna Atkins用它制作植物标本,为后世留下重要记录。

蓝晒常见的做法,是运用「铁氰化钾」与「柠檬酸铁安」调配成感光剂,涂在纸上,并将底片迭放其上,以木板及胶片压平夹实,然后放在太阳下吸收紫外光,从而制造显影效果;而深啡色的感光剂经日晒后转色,「照片」呈现一片浓浓淡淡的蓝,所以也叫蓝晒。

但,一直钻研纺织艺术、会自己织布的嘉玲,除了把爸爸的旧照晒成明信片,亦尝试把影像印在布料上:既有爸爸留港打拼养家时的生活照,也有小时候跟妈妈哥哥到公园玩乐的留影──尽管河畔草地美景下,爸爸缺席了。

「还未有纸张的年代,织布就是记载文化历史的方法。」

嘉玲觉得,蓝晒遇上编织,就像把两种遭时代遗忘的工艺结合;而且由于水洗后会褪色,蓝晒一直鲜有应用于衣料,然而这种缺憾,正正与回忆无异:时日久了,年纪大了,曾经发生过的片段,难免一点一滴的流失。

展览开始后,男主角亦有亲身到场欣赏。

「他有一点尴尬,还在问:块布上面那个人是谁?」

一脸认真的嘉玲,终于稍露笑容:「我们都是传统中国人,不说我爱你。但我已经用这个展览表达了,一直想要跟阿爸说的。」

两父女如出一辙的基因,包括这相同的含蓄:爸爸看完没哼一声,不留一句评价。

然而,有些东西还是默默改变了:「阿爸其实不特别喜欢我做艺术,以前不时追问:几时正式找一份写字楼工?」

现在爸爸终于看见女儿的认真,不再过问──而沉默不因为漠不关心,也可以是另一种爱。

地址:WHOSTHATshop, S309, 3/F, Staunton, PMQ

Leisure & Culture #29

Daddy’s Blues

Garling Lai

Written by Kit Chan
Translated by v_p
Photos by Kit Chan

It was like a scene right out of a soap opera. One day, a relative told her, “You didn’t live with your daddy until you turned three.”

Anyone would be shocked, but not Garling, whose heart was filled with guilt instead. “It must be such a hard time for Daddy. Without his wife and kids by his side, how did he possibly go through it?”

It was 1991. Immigration seemed the way to go, so Garling’s dad sent his family off to Australia, while he stayed alone in Hong Kong to support them. Garling was still in her mother’s womb then, by the time her family reunited in Hong Kong, she was already three years old.

“Maybe I was too young? I don’t remember this chapter of my life at all,” Garling said, looking puzzled. “People always say long distance relationships are dreadful, and I was already in such a relationship with dad since I was born!”

The story did not end here. Just when Garling learnt about the past, fashion brand WHOSTHATshop invited her to collaborate in an exhibition, on “Diminishing Memories”.

Garling searched through her old family photos right away, and decided to reconstruct the missing years with an age-old tradition – a technique called Cyanotype, invented by British physicist John Herschel in 1842. Originally used for copying journals, it was later adopted by botanist and photographer Anna Atkins as a way to preserve plant specimens, leaving a valuable photographic herbarium behind for generations to come.

Cyanotype is done by mixing potassium ferricyanide and ferric ammonium citrate as a sensitizer, then applying on paper, with the negative film placed on top, holding them flat and tight with wooden boards and acrylic sheets. When exposed under UV sunlight, positive images will appear on the contact print, and the brown colored photosensitive solution will turn into shades of blue, also known as cyan-blue prints.

Garling, who has been studying textile art and a weaver herself, not only printed her dad’s images on postcards, but also on fabrics. There were photos of dad when he was working in Hong Kong, and photos of mom, her brother, and herself having fun at the park – though dad was not there to smell the roses.

“Before there was paper, weaving was the way to record culture and history.”

Garling considers both cyanotype and weaving forgotten artwork that should be treasured. Rarely used on textile, the afterwash hue of cyanotype fades just like memories - as time goes by, as we grow old, what has happened eventually slips away.

The protagonist of the story visited the exhibition too.

“He was a bit embarrassed and asked me: who’s that guy you printed on the piece of cloth?”

The reserved Garling finally smiled. “We are quite a traditional Chinese family, so we never say ‘I love you,’ but I told my father what I always wanted to say through this exhibition.”

Like father like daughter. Garling’s reserved dad left the exhibition without a word.

Nevertheless, something did change. “Daddy didn’t particularly like the idea me pursuing art, from time to time he would ask: when are you going to get a real job?”

After he saw how focused his daughter was on art, Daddy never asked again. Sometimes, love is better left unspoken.

Address:WHOSTHATshop, S309, 3/F, Staunton, PMQ