元创领域 #34

美丽怎样铸成

Loupe

撰文: Kit Chan
图片: Kit Chan

拿起一件金器,闪烁烁地,极尽华丽。然后脑袋开始计算:重量多少?纯度几高?保值潜力怎样?

当眼睛充满钱币符号,给怪可怜地丢在一角的,是首饰诞生前的种种巧思;而我们大概忘记了,每件珠宝金器,从来都是设计品。

要把珠宝制作带回设计主导,先要闭上势利的眼,掏出一副放大镜,仔细看真作品背后的旅程──这是Loupe(意即鉴赏珠宝的放大镜)的源起与初衷。

那是由周大福艺术基金策划的项目,尝试提供一个复合式空间,将不同背景的新晋珠宝设计师放在同一工房,本地的外国的,并且提供设备及销售位置,形成一个小社群,互相学习和借镜,等待不同文化相遇下擦出火花。

本地传统打金工匠每星期都会来访,以丰富的实战经验,为驻场设计师作出技术支持,既让两个年龄层的匠人交流,也说得上工艺传承。

更重要是,这开放式空间,欢迎所有人前来,见证珠宝的制作实况,甚至有机会跟设计师直接交流,让这神神秘秘的行业显得透明。

心意大概不容置疑,但一个关乎打金铸银的空间,应该怎样去营造,才能洗去老气横秋,还设计一个公道,叫人重新注目?

答案依然是「设计」:长长的空间,给割成五间房,颜色经过计算,由最初的白,中间过渡成灰,渐渐走到最前的黑,象征一段旅程,关于珠宝由石头演变成艺术品的经过。

墙壁物料也有考虑,选用马来漆(Venetian Plaster),带有大理石的优雅纹路,跟首饰原材料如出一辙,经懂得处理的装修师傅小心批荡,还得批上三层才达最佳效果。

中间是展览厅,把外国前瞻的珠宝潮流带过来,小至一颗戒指,也能照见世界;最近展出的是荷兰艺术家丹.罗斯加德的「雾霾宝石」:将北京收集得来的雾霾颗粒,经压缩后制成宝石,设计出戒指和袖扣等,每一枚大小,相当于为地球换取1,000立方米的洁净空气。

接着还有柬埔寨的炸弹珠宝,战争遗下的炸弹碎片烧制成饰物,用珠宝诉说世界议题,比美丽更大。

空间结尾是隐蔽的小茶室,邀请烘焙师以珠宝为灵感,设计卖相精美的甜品,同时带来诱因,教人愿意延长逗留时间,让刚看过的好好沉淀。

Loupe

H410, 4/F, Block B, PMQ

http://www.pmq.org.hk/shop/loupe/?lang=zh

分享
We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.

PMQ Corner #34

How is Beauty Forged?

Loupe

Text & Photo by Kit Chan
Translated by Derek Leung

When you pick up a glitzy gold item, the questions suddenly crossing your mind may be: How much does it weigh? How fine is it? How long does its value last?

But once your mind is filled with dollar signs, what is pitifully neglected is every single careful thought behind the birth of the jewelry --- we probably forget that every piece of jewelry is after all a design.

To produce design-oriented jewellery, the snobbish eyes have to be closed. Instead, what has to be look through the magnifying glass is the entire process behind the real work, and this is exactly the original intention proper of Loupe, which means the tiny magnifying glass used for analysing the jewelry.

Founded by Chow Tai Fook Jewellery and supported by Chow Tai Fook Art Foundation, Loupe is a design incubation space designed to provide a platform for local and international up-and-coming talented jewelry designers and artisans to design, produce and sell their art pieces while engaging with the general public for idea exchange and synergy.

Local goldsmiths with rich practical experience will render technical support for the designers-in-residence weekly so that the craftsmen of two ages manage to carry on the process of inheritance in the aspect of jewelry production.

Another point we can conclude the industry will no longer be mysterious here in this platform is that everyone is welcome to witness the production of jewelry and even to communicate directly with the designers.

Despite such thoughtfulness, how can the declining old-fashioned gold-and-silver-forging industry be repositioned so that more attention can be drawn to the effort in design instead of the dollar sign?

The answer is still "design": five rooms divided from a long space are furnished with colours with calculation initially from white to grey and finally to black to epitomise the passage of art and an evolution of jewelry from stones.

Detail-mindedness can also be observed from the wall where the Venetian Plaster is carefully applied for up to three layers by experienced paint technicians to show the best result of the exclusive elegant marble-like lines in the plastering reminiscent of the raw materials tailored for jewelry production.

The central space of the shop sees the showcase area of the avant-garde items from overseas including tiny shiny rings and the recent exhibit of the Smog Free Project curated by Dutch artist and innovator Daan Roosegaarde, who compressed the haze particles collected from Beijing into gemstones for the production of rings and cufflinks with each of which commemorating every 1000 cubic metres of clean air produced for the city.

Another worth-mentioning is the bomb jewellery from Cambodia, which are made from the bomb debris to convince everyone in the world to make something beauty but not wars.

At the end of the space is a seclusive tea room where jewelry-inspired bakers are invited to design delicate desserts for those who love jewelry and sweet dainties to savour the beautiful time.

All in all, Loupe sees from its tiny magnifying glass a universe awaiting our further creative exploration, and beyond the excessive glare of the jewelry the ever-flowing beauty accentuated with the infinite vitality, creativity and possibilities.

Loupe
H410, 4/F, Block B, PMQ
http://www.pmq.org.hk/shop/loupe/