文化生活 #53

建一座圣殿,纪念一个人

管风琴教堂

文/ 图: Kit Chan

大门推开,双脚才踏进去,呼吸已经凝住,嘴巴不由自主地将开——我是到了另外一个星球吗?

这是丹麦哥本哈根的Grundtvigs Kirke,别名「管风琴教堂」。

奇异得脱离现实,因为建筑去芜存菁地简洁,可又异常复杂:大量挺拔的哥德式尖顶,数之不尽的柱子,笔直地由天空拉到地面,明明坚硬,却媲美流水的轻,柔顺得不着痕迹。

整个空间像两面对站的镜,不断伸延,无限重复;有别一般教堂,这儿几乎清一色淡淡的黄,不见五颜六色的璀灿玻璃,换来铺天盖地的素净,毫无杂质,然而单一从未显得如此有趣,有百看不厌的魔力。 身处其中,你只能安份守己地渺小,仰望砖瓦构成的雄伟。

这样一座叫人目眩的建筑,本来不该出现;让它最终能够面世的,是设计的力量:教堂源起,是为纪念Nikolaj F.S. Grundtvig (1783 - 1882),18世纪丹麦举足轻重的人物,集神学家、政治家、学者及诗人等多重身份,很早巳提倡全民教育、自由平等,对丹麦近代发展影响深远。

回到1912年,其时丹麦人为纪念Grundtvig逝世40年,打算建一块纪念碑;当时政府办了两场比赛,在民间征集设计方案。

云云建议书之中,夹杂一份建筑师Peder Vilhelm Jensen-Klint设计的教堂草图——可以想象,纪念碑与一大座教堂,完全是两码子的工程;而Jensen Klint提交的设计,造价比其他参赛者高出二十倍。 然而当时评审对其破格构思由衷折服,不惜借教会之名筹募经费,也要坚持采用方案。

教堂于1921年9月8日(Grundtvigs生辰)动工,西侧主塔于1927年冬天完成并启用;余下工程经历漫长的19年,期间设计师Jensen-Klint于1930年去世,由儿子Kaare Klint接手处理,到后来孙子Esben Klint加入协助,三代人合力,划时代建筑终于在1940年全面落成。

Grundtvigs Kirke的厉害,在于完美示范表现主义建筑(Expressionist architecture)的精彩。

教堂以600万块黄砖构成,全部人手烧制;钟楼高49公尺,中间是丹麦教堂经常出现的山墙,加上不断扑面而来的哥特式尖顶,以线条及几何组合勾勒出既科幻亦神圣的空间,化繁为简,看似单一,但每当阳光洒下,砖柱间的层次马上秀出,浑然天成地大器。

西侧面主塔貌似一根根音管,排起来就是一座巨大管风琴,「管风琴教堂」之名不胫而走;内部同样有一座真正的管风琴,多达4,052根管子,据说属北欧最大。

小至一张椅子,也是流传后世的经典:Kaare Klint设计的教堂椅子,跟印象中的长方教堂椅不一样,榉木制,轻巧简洁,每张保持独立,由长杆从后整排连接,不费吹灰之力已经摩登,自此成为北欧设计家具中的重要icon。

不容忽略的是,当年Jensen-Klint同时负责设计邻近教堂的民宅,相近的颜色与几何结构,让教堂所在小区看来一气呵成,跟日常与居民融为一体。

建筑落成接近八十年,一直站在偏离市中心的地区,论资排辈并非最古老,说名气不是最响,亦不是非常热门的旅游景点。

然而在丹麦人心中,它代表着一位伟人,同时是一种深入血液的态度:由设计主导的美丽,值得经年累月去把它做好。

教堂最初为一个人而建,结果启迪的是好几代人,之后肯定还有更多。

Leisure & Culture #53

Holy for A Man, Wholly for A People

Text & Image by Kit Chan
Translated by Derek Leung

“Am I on another planet?” I murmured upon pushing open the door to enter, breathtakingly.

This is Grundtvigs Kirke in Copenhagen, Denmark, alias “The Organ Church”.

The architecture is considered unrealistically weird since it looks minimal and is nonetheless extremely complicated: a multitude of classical verticals and countless sky-height pillars of the Gothic architecture embraced in greenery manifest the incomparable sturdiness in sleek and subtle suppleness.

Looking like an indefinite stretch of two mirror images in entirety, the church is unusual and unique in its major use of light yellow bricks instead of a kaleidoscope of colourful stained glass in exchange for the overwhelming feeling of impurity and the ever-interesting flair of monotony.

In the church can you truly experience the contrast between your insignificance and the majestic mightiness composed by bricks.

It is the power of design that brings such an unexpected dazzling building to reality. In 1912, a monument was planned to be built in commemoration of the 40-year death of Nikolaj FS Grundtvig (1783 - 1882), a highly acclaimed Danish theologist, politician, scholar cum poet in the 18th century who had far-reaching implication for the modern development of Denmark through advocacy of nationwide education, freedom and equality. The Danish government thus organized two competitions to collect design proposals from the general public.

Among all the monument design proposals, there was a sketch of a church designed by architect Peder Vilhelm Jensen-Klint, which is, without doubt, coupled with its construction cost 20 times more than other proposals’, beyond the government’s expectation.

However, the then judges were deeply convinced of the groundbreaking concept and therefore insisted on carrying out this proposal without hesitation to raise funds for the construction in the name of the church.

In force from 8th September, 1921, the date of birth of Grundtvig, with the opening of the completed western end of the nave in the winter of 1927, the construction of the epoch-making church was handled by Kaare Klint, son of original designer Jensen-Klint who passed away in 1930, and not complete until 19 years later in 1940 with the participation and assistance of grandson Esben Klint.

A perfect demonstration of the Expressionist church architecture, Grundtvigs Kirke sees its power in its composition of 6 million hand-burned yellow bricks together with the features of a 49-metre clock tower, the middle gables common in Danish churches as well as the sacred space with a special sci-fi touch made of lines and geometric combinations. Despite its monotone and simplicity, the church is a typical example of “less is more” and the cascade range of the bricks and columns will immediately show off its momentum whenever there is sunshine.

While the western façade of the church looks like a huge organ, an organ proper with as many as 4,052 pipes is installed in the interior to form the largest organ in Northern Europe as claimed.

That said, the small items in the church are not the exception to draw your attention. Different from the regular rectangular benches found in the normal churches, individual beech church chairs designed by Kaare Klint, light and simple, are connected by long rods and arranged from the back end, rendering a modern interior for the church through such an iconic Nordic furniture design.

It should not be overlooked that Jensen-Klint also designed the residence adjacent to the church with similar colours and geometric structures, so that the architecture was well integrated into the neighbourhood.

Established for slightly more than 80 years, the church is not known as a very popular tourist attraction due to its puberty in historic terms and its long distance from the city centre. However, it stands for a great man in the innermost recesses of every single Dane’s heart.

While it is worth taking time to maintain the design-led beauty, it is even more important to preserve an inspiring architecture initially built for a single man for the coming generations to experience.