文化生活 #34

随心而画七十年

阮大勇

撰文:蔡琇莹
照片:荣之联盟、许氏影业、蔡琇莹
访问安排: MOViE MOViE (nowTV 116频道)

七八十后影迷对于上世纪七八十年代那些高高挂在电影戏院门外的手绘电影海报应该不会陌生,如许氏兄弟的《天才与白痴》、《半斤八两》等电影;成龙及洪金宝主演的「福星电影」及「A计划」系列;还有国际巨星李小龙电影的海外版等……这些海报电影主角,多是「头细身大」,栩栩如生又带点卡通化,正是出自现年七十五岁的阮大勇之手。

从纱厂至广告公司美术总监

阮大勇十六岁时从浙江来到香港,在纱厂任职,工作与画画无关。其后辗转到了教科书出版社画插画,洋人上司推荐他到广告公司工作,时维1966年。 「初初入去做学师,后来做art director。」上世纪六十年代,香港仍容许一个年青人,即使没有从外国大学毕业、操流利英语或拥有亮丽的工作履历,凭着手艺与认真的工作态度,进入著名广告公司工作。他离开广告公司时位至美术总监。

现今不少家长都希望培养拥有「十八般武艺」的下一代,不少学生从小就到绘画班去。阮大勇也留意到这个现象︰「看到很多十五六岁的青年画的画,较当年同龄的我出色很多。现在的家长会刻意培养小朋友呀,送他们去学画画。」他喜欢画画,但画得很随心。当年没有「怪兽家长」催谷,他也没有着意要练习,「但我未曾讨厌过画画。即使你喜欢画画或很有天份,但被人逼得紧的话也会有厌恶吧。」

香港电影黄金时期 御用海报师

1975年,许氏兄弟电影《天才与白痴》的海报中,手持痰罐与水烟,头带潜镜脚踏蛙鞋的许冠杰即出自阮的手笔。那时他仍在广告公司工作。翌年,许氏兄弟电影新作《半斤八两》,他透过朋友带他到嘉禾片场,向许氏兄弟自荐画《半斤八两》电影海报,许冠杰认得他,爽快答应。 《半斤八两》后来成为当时香港开埠以来卖座最高的电影﹙当时票房达八百万!﹚。自此,邀约阮大勇绘画电影海报的来电令他应接不暇。

阮大勇为张国荣的电影创作的宣传海报

独立动画家卢子英在《海报师》的映后分享会提到,他怀疑阮大勇的电影海报作品的数量,较美国著名的电影海报设计师Drew Struzan还要多,应可申入健力士世界纪录大全。

电影《海报师》在元创方放映时,不少阮大勇的Fans慕名前来,连阮大勇也惊讶相当部分是青年人呢。

1970至 90年代期间,嘉禾、新艺城及金公主等电影海报中的许氏兄弟、麦嘉、成龙、洪金宝,​​以至周星驰等,都由阮大勇画出来。可是,这些海报手稿大部份都没有留下来。 「当年留下来的手稿只有数张。金公主﹙电影公司﹚的同事也没有替我留起来。现在回想起来当然觉得可惜,但当时咁多手稿,无地方放啦。」他绘画电影海报的时候,完全没有电脑辅助,一笔一画都出自双手,是真正的「手稿」。

「我反对用任何辅助工具画画的。即使是当年有人在方格纸上画画,我也反对。因为在画纸上打格仔会限制自己的进步︰当你依赖了格仔,没有格仔你便画不出来。」

训练自己手眼并用,是阮大勇给学画人士的贴士。

回流香港 随心而画

阮大勇退休移民纽西兰后,有十年没有画画。 07年重拾画笔,坚持至今,成为生活的一部分。从前绘画电影海报为挣钱,现在执笔画自己所爱,不用考虑市场、客人的要求,更是随心所欲。

「现在天天都画。画放桌上,得闲画几笔,得闲又画几笔,好开心!」因为画的都由自己选择。他是从明星闪烁的年代走过来︰笔下李小龙,被一众李小龙粉丝奉为「官方」代言人,连李小龙铜像的制作,也邀他当顾问。还有张国荣、梅艳芳、山口百惠,许氏兄弟、周星驰等等等等……「我钟意画偶像。」2007年重拾画笔之初,他也经过一段时间练习才回复水准。 「现在多画写实的画,我觉较退休之前画得好。但画卡通化的画却没有以前的『生鬼』。」画风正正随着不同的人生阶段而改变。

「现在很多后生一辈刻意去创造自己的风格,我觉得不是这样的。风格是怎样来的呢?我觉得是靠你平日睇,吸收,然后不知不觉,由自己的性格造成的。」阮大勇常强调他画画就是随意、随心,乍听以为他隐藏了什么秘技?实在是他只传授「心法」。

「总之系天赋加后天努力,不停的画啦!」成功没有捷径。 「始终人是懒惰的,如果我现在是十几岁的年青人,当我用电脑造作品,发现效果ok的话,我谂我会『就咁算』,不会再追求更好。」那唯有自己坚持画下去,让后来的有心人看到。大概手艺的传承,也没法刻意强求,只盼有心人。

在2016年9月8日至18日期间在PMQ元创方举行的「哥影魅幻•张国荣展览,展出阮大勇笔下的翩翩公子张国荣。」

展览详情:http://www.pmq.org.hk/event/the-way-we-were-the-60th-anniversary-of-leslie-cheung-exhibition/?lang=zh

分享
We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.

Leisure & Culture #34

70 Years of Drawing With All Heart

Yung Tai-yung

Written by Mary Choy
Translated by Derek Leung
Photos by United Leslie, Hui’s Film Production, Mary Choy
Interview arranged by MOViE MOViE (nowTV ch116)

Movie fans from after 1970-80s should not find those hand-painted posters high up outside theatres strange. Those posters, including Michael and Sam Hui's "The Last Message" and "Private Eyes", "Lucky Star" series and "Project A" series of Jackie Chan and Sammo Hung, together with the international versions of movies featuring superstar Bruce Lee, where the characters are illustrated to resemble the real actors and actresses with the cartoonish unproportionally big heads and slim bodies, are all the masterpieces of 76-year-old posterist Tai-Yung Yuen.

From Factory Worker to Art Director

Fleeing to Hong Kong from Zhejiang, China at the age of sixteen, Yuen first worked in a textile factory with nothing to be associated with drawing. After some time, he became an illustrator of a textbook publisher and his foreign boss later recommended him to work in an advertising firm. That was the year of 1966. "I first joined as an apprentice but finally I became Art Director." In 1960s, a local young man without university graduation from overseas, proficiency in English and a bright work history, was still able to find a pleasant job in a famous advertising company once he had craftsmanship and dedication. When he left the advertising company, he was already Art Director.

Nowadays, many parents expect all-round children and therefore send them to drawing classes at their early age. Yuen noted and commented on this: "A lot more teenagers draw way better than I did when I was at their age. Today, parents mean to nurture their kids so they send them to study drawing." Yuen likes drawing, but he draws from the bottom of his heart. Without "helicopter parents" aside, he did not practise drawing very hard though, "but I never hate drawing. If you're forced to draw, you'll probably hate it even though you're very talented," claimed Yuen.

The Posterist During Golden Age of Hong Kong Film Industry

One of Yuen's renowned works is the poster of Hui Brothers' "The Last Message" released in 1975 featuring leading actor Sam Hui with a goggle and diving slippers holding a spittoon and a water pipe. At that time, Yuen was still working in the advertising company. In the following year when Hui Brothers' new film "Private Eyes" was screened, he was brought by his friend to the studio of Golden Harvest and recommended himself to draw the movie poster. Sam Hui recognized him and agreed to let him do so. Later, "Private Eyes" broke the local record with the ever highest box office sales of HK$8 million. Since then, he was flooded with the calls for movie poster drawing.

Yuen draws for Leslie Cheung's films

In the post-screening talk of the film The Posterist, independent animator Tsz-Ying Lo doubted the number of Yuen's poster works may even exceed that of renowned American poster designer Drew Struzan, thus a possible new recognition in the Guinness World Book of Records.

Yuen's surprise was the big crowd of youngsters amid the audience when The Posterist was shown at PMQ.

From 1970s to 1990s, the posters for the films produced by Golden Harvest, Cinema City and Golden Princess featuring Hui Brothers, Karl Mak, Jackie Chan, Sammo Hung and even Stephen Chow are all drawn by Yuen. However, most of these poster manuscripts have not been saved. "Only a few were left behind. Worse is Golden Princess colleagues did not keep those posters for me. It’s a bit pity but it’s true there isn’t much space to keep so many of them." There was no computer at the time he drew, so all of the hand-painted posters were genuine manuscripts.

"I'm opposed to drawing with tools, even a sheet of checkered graph paper, because your progress will then be limited. You can't draw once you rely on it," explained Yuen.

Training of coordination between eyes and hands is Yuen's tip for those interested in drawing.

Go Back to HK, Draw with All Heart

Yuen has not drawn for about a decade since his retirement and migration to New Zealand. He picked up his drawing pen again in 2007 and drawing has since then been a vital part of his life. Drawing posters was for living but is now for his liking without the need to consider the market and clients. Now, he just merely draws following his mind.

“I draw every day now. I do a few strokes when I’m free. I’m really happy about this,” said Yuen. The reason is he paints whatever he chooses to. Yuen has experienced a brilliant era of superstars. His “Bruce Lee” made all Lee’s fans to regard him as Lee’s "official" spokesman, hence even serving as the consultant for the making of Lee’s bronze statue. He has also been named as the very painter for Leslie Cheung, Anita Mui, Momoe Yamaguchi, Hui Brothers, Stephen Chow and to name but a few. “I love drawing showbiz idols,” claimed Yuen. After 2007 when he restarted drawing, it took him some time to resume his previous high standard. "Now I do more realistic paintings, and I think I even draw better than before retirement. However, I find my cartoonist paintings not that funny anymore,” stated Yuen, showing apparently his style varying in different stages of his life.

“Today, many from the new generation create their own styles on purpose, which I don’t really agree with. Where is the style from? I think it depends on what you see and get every day and it naturally comes out,” commented Yuen. He often stressed that he draws from his heart. You may think that he just keeps his secrets but indeed he is simply teaching from the bottom of “his heart”.

"All in all, it’s talent and practice. Just keep drawing," concluded Yuen. There is no shortcut to success. "People are always lazy. If I had been a teen and I’d worked with a computer, I shouldn’t have bothered anymore and pushed myself more if the paintings’ effect had looked ok," stressed Yuen. Luckily, he insisted on drawing to let those who like him to have a chance to see. Craftsmanship is probably subject to be discovered by those who care.

The prince-like "Leslie Cheung" under Yuen’s pen will be exhibited in "The Way We Were – the 60th Anniversary of Leslie Cheung" in PMQ from 8th to 18th September, 2016.

Exhibition Details:http://www.pmq.org.hk/event/the-way-we-were-the-60th-anniversary-of-leslie-cheung-exhibition/

Share
We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.