Interview #20

Redefining Standards in Interior Architecture in Hong Kong

Stylus

Written by RMM
Photos by ©Stylus Studio

Four years ago, Simon Zeng and Vincent Zhang decided that it was time for a change. With over 30 years of experience combined, two intrepid designers decided to leave their jobs at a leading multi-national architecture firm to start their own practice.

Stylus Studio was borne out of a desire to design emotional environments that help people to connect, inspire and thrive. With a focus on designing luxury hospitality, F&B, retail and office spaces, their small 7-person team of like-minded designers have worked on more than seventeen projects in Hong Kong, China and even Myanmar. The studio’s work has indeed struck a chord with the regional design scene — both Zeng and Zhang were winners of Perspective’s ’40 Under 40’ in 2016.

RMM speaks to Stylus about the entrepreneurship and the spatial design scene in Hong Kong.

SZ: Simon Zeng

VZ: Vincent Zhang

RMM: What inspired you to start Stylus? Your studio’s philosophy is “redefining new standards in Interior Architecture” – could you explain this, for the benefit of readers who are less familiar with the interior architecture industry?


SZ: “Redefining new standards in interior architecture” is about starting with the “why” — we don’t get caught up in the latest trends that unfortunately many of our peers fall prey to.

We can promise to create characteristic spaces, as we are forever led by the DNA of a project (it’s history, surroundings, and the owner/developer’s aspirations for the place etc.). This DNA inspires us to develop a meaningful storyline for the project; guiding the decisions we make in the design to create something truly unique. In turn, we hope to delight, inspire and emotionally connect with those that come to experience what we create.

After spending the last 15 years designing 5-star hotels around Southeast Asia, we think it’s time to go back to the origins of authentic design, which inspired us to start STYLUS STUDIO.

RMM: The Stylus Studio team is small and international. What is the working culture like?


SZ: Being small, focused and internationally structured is our strength… our advantage. We believe in extensive design research and open discussion, and we believe in experiencing the delivery of our craft. We walk the streets, interact with craftsmen and artisans, make samples and models, and even learn new skills such as woodworking. These experiences, or you could say our working culture of “doing”, ensures we are united to constantly learn, see things from all angles, and feel a greater sense of pride in what we design.

RMM: What inspired each of you to pursue a career in interior architecture?


SZ: I was good at maths and loved drawing, and even though it’s repeated often, interior architecture is the blend of science and art. What I didn’t realise at the time, and this has kept me in my profession, is that I’m constantly learning something about life from every project. There’s a real sense of pride in taking this knowledge to better my design solutions.

VZ: I chose interior design back in the day, because I thought all other options available to me were too boring! But in all seriousness, ultimately creating a space that inspires people and enriches our lives keeps me happy.

RMM: There’s a current trend towards ‘wall-less’ offices with open concepts and desk islands instead of traditional cubicle-laden spaces. At the same time, there has been a lot of debate over how they are more detrimental towards productivity. What is your opinion on ‘open-concept’ offices and how do you balance interaction and focus when designing an office space?


SZ: Open planning or not really depends on the office culture and operational style of the business. We don’t think all offices should be ‘wall-less’. For example, some job roles in the office require high-level privacy that would translate into a need for acoustic control. On the other hand, the marketing and design departments may benefit from open planning to encourage communication and brainstorming. Again, we don’t pursue design trends. We first engage our clients to fully understand the company culture and operational style before coming up with any concept planning. We are up-to-date, but never force a ‘trend’ into our design.

RMM: What do you think is a “Hong Kong aesthetic”, in terms of interior architecture, and should this be conserved?


SZ: Historically, Hong Kong was created by ‘outsiders’ and because of its open-minded tolerance and acceptance, Hong Kong gave birth to a blended Cantonese Colonial design style. On top of that, Hong Kong’s dense built environment drives the aesthetic to maximise the space. Should the old “Hong Kong aesthetic” be conserved? Our answer would be yes. Unique to every city is its history, and this helps for an evolving identity. If we pay a little more respect to our origins, our surroundings and our people, we can be proud about taking elements of this into further developing a distinct Hong Kong style unique from other mega cities.

Stylus, S514, Staunton, PMQ

Official Website: http://www.stylus-studio.com/

人物访谈 #20

重新定义香港的室内建筑标准

Stylus

撰文 RMM
相片来源 ©Stylus Studio

四年前,曾昊和张广坚都觉得,是时候改变了。凭着他们三十年的设计经验,两位设计师无畏地决定离开他们在跨国建筑公司的职位,开展他们自己的事业。

Stylus工作室诞生自一种渴望:两位设计师希望设计出富有情感的环境,来帮助人们互相联系、启发及茁壮成长。他们的设计团队由七位怀有相同理念的设计师组成,主攻奢华服务业、餐饮业、零售及办公室设计。而他们已经完成了超过十七个在香港、中国甚至缅甸的企画。他们的工作室的作品也在亚洲地区的设计圈引起不少共鸣——曾昊和张广坚二人在 2016 都获 Perspective 杂志选为「40位40岁以下的未来设计才俊」。

RMM 就跟 Stylus 的创办人们谈了谈香港的创业和空间设计。

RMM:什么启发了你们创立 Stylus?你们的工作室的理念是「重新定义室内建筑的标准」——有些读者对室内建筑设计不太熟悉,可否解释一下?


曾昊:「重新定义室内建筑的标准」的重点在于问「为什么」。有很多同行不幸地陷入了跟随最新潮流的陷阱,而我们不想陷入相同的陷阱。

我们的承诺是我们会创造富有特色的空间,因为我们总是随着计划的「基因」走。(「基因」就是它的历史、附近的环境、拥有者/发展者对企画的期许等等)这种「基因」往往启发我们该如何发展这企画的故事脉络,和引导我们如何创造真正独特的东西。倒过来说,我们希望为那些来体验我们的设计的人提供趣味、启发和在情感上的联系。

我们过去十五年都在东南亚设计五星级的酒店,而我们觉得是时候回到原点,回到真实的设计,而这种想法让我们创立了STYLUS工作室。

RMM:STYLUS工作室的团队虽小,却相当国际化。你们的工作文化是什么样子的?


曾昊:小而精,加上国际化的架构,是我们团队的优势。我们提倡详尽的数据搜集和开放的讨论,也相信我们需要亲身体验自己的作品会如何大家的眼中展现。我们会上街走走,与工匠们交流,制作样本和模型,有时甚至从中学会了新的技艺,例如木工。这些经验,或者我们注重「下手做事」的工作文化,确保了我们能团结、不停学习、从不同的角度看各种事物,以及为自己的设计感到骄傲。

RMM:什么分别启发了你们两人追求室内建筑设计的事业?


曾昊:我从前很擅长数学,也非常喜欢画画;虽然这是老生常谈,但室内建筑设计的确是科学和艺术的结合。我当时不晓得的是,原来我一直都在每一个企划里学习到有关生活的各种事物,而这让我一直在室内建筑这条路上走。当我明白到这一点的时候,我可以运用我学到的事情来改良我的设计,我对此真的感到很自豪。

张广坚:我当初选择室内建筑设计的原因,是因为所有别的选择都太沈闷了!不过认真来说,建造一个既可以启发别人、又可以丰富别人生活的空间,真的让我很开心。

RMM:最近,「开放式办公室」成为了新的潮流。这种办公室多运用开放空间概念和组合式办公桌,而非传统分隔开来的办公空间。 但同一时间,也有很多讨论指出这种办公室会降低工作效率。你对这种「开放概念」有什么评语?在设计办公空间的时候,你又会如何平衡「互相交流」和「使人专注」的要素呢?


曾昊:要不要采用开放式的设计,很大程度上要看该产业的文化和他们运作的风格。我们不认为所有办公室都应该是开放的。例如,有一些工作需要极高的私隐度,因此他们的工作空间对声音控制的要求会很严格。另一方面,开放式的办公室可能对市场推广和产品设计产业有益,因为这种空间能鼓励沟通和脑力激荡。所以这又回到我们的设计理念,就是我们不会盲目跟随设计的潮流。我们开始思索设计概念之前,会深入了解客人的公司文化和工作风格。我们与时并进,但绝不会强行将「潮流」加入我们的设计。

RMM:你认为在室内建筑的范畴里,「香港的美学」是怎样的?我们应该怎样保存它?


曾昊:从历史来看的话,香港其实是由「外来者」建造的,而因为她的开放、宽容和高接受度,香港这种混合广东和殖民地色彩的设计风格就由此而生。加上香港人烟稠密,使香港的审美非常着重空间。香港的美学应不应该保留呢?我们的回答是「应该」。香港的城市历史比其他城市都独特,而这促进了香港身分认同的发展。如果我们愿意更尊重我们的起源、周围环境和人们,我们就能非常自豪地将「香港美学」的元素进一步发展,建立香港独立于其他大城市的风格。

Stylus, S514, Staunton, PMQ

官方网站:http://www.stylus-studio.com/