七个历史焦点

前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍正门

位于鸭巴甸街斜路上的正门,昔日是居民的主要出入口,见证了警员家庭、邻里、以及社区多年来的发展。另外,环绕正门旁大树下花槽的石块,则是由中央书院遗迹中发掘出来的。

地下展示廊

地下展示廊主要是由中央书院发掘出的两段最长的花岗岩地基遗迹所组成,公众可以透过展示廊欣赏遗迹背后的文化与历史价值。此外,展示廊特别展出六件从遗迹中发掘出来大小和外形不一的铺地瓷砖,以展示书院的建筑特色。

中央书院的石级与石墙

石级与石墙均为1889年建成的中央书院校舍的一部分。石级以石墙围绕,并连接着宿舍建筑和前中区少年警讯会所。梯级在活化后仍保留原有功能,以连接不同台阶。公众可在此欣赏新建的花园,以及荷李活道石墙上的老树群。

前中区少年警讯会所

原为前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍康乐设施的两层楼高建筑,曾于1950年代变身为荷李活道警察子弟学校,及于1981年改为中区少年警讯会所。建筑物第一层拥有悬臂式阳台,而入口则设有顶篷。会所现已活化成一所餐厅,仍然保留昔日的建筑特色。

中央书院入口 (士丹顿街入口)

中央书院其中一个入口原本位于士丹顿街。位于士丹顿街和鸭巴甸街的石柱和柱座,早于中央书院时期已经存在,旁边还有一座建于1918年的地下公厕。

展览厅 (五楼S508与S509号单位)

展览厅设于两间相邻的宿舍单位:其中一间以历史时序的方式,展现出中央书院的过往;另一间则重现昔日警察家庭的家居设计和介绍宿舍生活点滴。这两个展览厅将会加深到访者对中央书院的认识,以及了解更多有关前荷李活道已婚警察宿舍的历史和文化。

天台花园 (四楼)

智方是一座崭新的建筑,除了连接两座大楼建筑外,更是一个用来举办公共活动的全天候式多用途会堂。而设于智方的顶层(四楼)的天台花园,让访客来宾可欣赏花园及周边的景观。

欢迎前来元创方参观,一同发掘其多元化的历史和文化底蕴!

有关元创方解读导赏详情

We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.

Seven historical spots inside PMQ

Main entrance of Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters

Located on the slope of Aberdeen Street, the main entrance was the main access for past residents and witnessed the growth of the police family community and the neighborhood through the years. The planter curbs surrounding the tree near the entrance are constructed by stones excavated from the remains of the Central School.

Underground Interpretation Area

Underground Interpretation Area is formed by two of the longest foundation remains of the Central School. Six pieces of floor and fragment of building materials are displayed here. It provides the public an opportunity to appreciate the historical and architectural values of the remains.

Granite steps and rubble retaining wall of the Central School

The granite steps and the rubble retaining wall have existed since the opening of the Central School in 1889. The steps connected the quarter blocks and the former Central Junior Police Call Clubhouse. After revitalization, the steps maintained its original function to link the two platforms. Visitors can enjoy the scenery formed by the newly planted garden and old trees rooted at Hollywood Road.

Former Central Junior Police Call Clubhouse

The two-storey recreational facility of the Former Hollywood Road Police Married Quarters was subsequently converted into the Hollywood Road Police Primary School in 1950s then into the Central Junior Police Call Clubhouse in 1981. Today, it has been revitalized into a restaurant with its original designs intact, including the cantilevered balcony located on the first floor of the building and the canopy built over the main entrance.

Entrance of the Central School (Entrance at Staunton Street)

One of the entrances of the Central School was formally located at Staunton Street. The granite pillars and plinths around this area have existed since the times of the Central School. An underground public latrine built in 1918 is also located close by.

Exhibition Area (Units S508 & S509 on 5/F)

Two neighboring living units were set aside for the interpretative exhibition. One features the timeline depicting the history of the Central School, while the other is designed to re-interpret a domestic home of a police family in the past. These two units provide visitors with a deeper comprehension and experience about the historical and cultural value of the site.

Rooftop Garden (4/F)

Newly constructed, the Qube is a multi-functional hall used to host public activities while at the same time connects the two blocks. The rooftop garden is located at the roof of the Qube (fourth floor) and visitors can enjoy the sceneries of the garden and the surroundings.

Start planning your visit with us to explore the diversified historical and cultural background of PMQ!

Know more about PMQ Interpretation Guided Tour.

We use cookies to optimize website functionality and improve browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you accept to its use of cookies, or click to find out more.