设计视野 #45

咖啡改变城市

铃木康夫的折纸滤杯

撰文: Kit Chan
图片: TRUNK Coffee Bar & Kurasu

那是一个精美玩具,一件手作工艺品,同时是个咖啡滤杯:岐阜县著名的美浓烧,明明是陶瓷,却以纸品的方式去呈现美丽,折成一朵花,打开就是绽放的生命。

颜色也是亮点,几乎说得出的色调都有,五颜六色地,叫人看着便感到明朗;本来实用为主的冲泡工具,一下子成了生活道具,额外多了赏心悦目的角度。

而这不是空有其表,亦考虑到实际功能——陶瓷本身传热保温,冲泡咖啡时有助保持温度;滤杯复杂多角的锥形结构,不但方便跟滤纸无缝贴合,凹槽设计也令水流稳定,让咖啡粉更均匀地受热,有利于手冲咖啡追求的闷蒸效果,咖啡粉尽情膨胀,释放出最佳香气和味道。

这样一件工具,直截了当就叫ORIGAMI,日本源远流长的传统折纸技术,意想不到地适用于咖啡,而效果非常优美。

滤杯约四年前面世,2017年发展出第二代,把结构再三改良;背后设计师是铃木康夫,TRUNK Coffee Bar的创办人,来自名古屋。

「咖啡工具一直都很男性化。」铃木这样形容:「我想设计一个能让所有人觉得好看和想用的滤杯,包括女生,大人小朋友也会觉得快乐。」

在他出现之前,从没有人会将名古屋跟咖啡拉上关系——得知道,名古屋是个以老派吃茶店闻名的城市,没甚么独立咖啡小店,当third wave coffee热潮已在东京大阪等地方卷起,名古屋的咖啡业依然固我地不动声色,继续怀旧。

一切因为铃木的咖啡旅程而改变。

故事有一点传奇,咖啡在改变名古屋之前,先把铃木康夫自己彻底改变:喜欢旅行的他,大学毕业后进了旅行社打工,可是很快便受不了呆板,未及30岁便离开名古屋,到南欧马耳他生活四年,期间接触到外国人的咖啡文化,开始做梦:我可不可以成为咖啡师?

结果,他再度远行,离开马耳他到丹麦取经,学习怎样做咖啡。

看似热血的情节,背后都是血汗;当时并没有咖啡店愿意聘用铃木,于是他在一家有点历史的咖啡馆当免费店员,天天上班,锻炼基本功,半年后终获店子正式聘用,成为哥本哈根首个日本人咖啡师。

工余也不躲懒,经常流连哥本哈根非常火红的咖啡店The Coffee Collective,向专业咖啡师讨教。

2012年回到日本,协助挪威咖啡店Fuglen在东京设店,结果店子一炮而红,适逢那时第三波咖啡浪潮跃跃欲动,两年后铃木又有了新的打算——这次他决定回家,回到咖啡文化尚未萌芽的名古屋,开自己的店,用咖啡去说想要说的。

自从TRUNK Coffee Bar面世,名古屋终于有了一个可以享受和研究精品咖啡的空间,而气氛非常随性。

这几年后来者纷纷加入,城市的咖啡香开始浓郁,形成气候。

TRUNK Coffee Bar并不只是一家咖啡店,同时是一对手,将名古屋与世界的咖啡舞台接轨——这也是为甚么铃木想要设计一些咖啡工具,跟毗邻家乡的岐阜县匠人合作生产,透过咖啡,让更多人看见名古屋(以及中部地区)的好。

咖啡店取名TRUNK,除了因为那是旅人必备的行李箱,更意味着粗壮的树干——让咖啡文化在城市慢慢滋长,而坚定的本心不变。

现在TRUNK在名古屋已有三家分店,铃木继续周游列国,拿着他的折纸滤杯,用香气和味道去介绍家乡。

TRUNK Coffee Bar: http://www.trunkcoffee.com/

Design Feature #45

Coffee Changes the City

Yasuo Suzuki’s Origami Coffee Filter

Text: Kit Chan
Photos: TRUNK Coffee Bar & Kurasu

It is a delicate toy, a handmade craft, and indeed a coffee filter. The Minoyaki for which Gifu Prefecture, Japan is renowned, is meant to be the ceramic made of fired clay but now such beauty is materialised in the floral form of paper that makes the life blossom.

The colour is also the highlight. Available in all describable colours, the functional coffee brewing tool now turns to be a pleasant life prop, brightening and beautifying everyone’s excursions of enjoyment.

The filter cup is not just for enjoyment and its functionality cannot be ignored. While the heat transferring and preserving ceramic helps keep the coffee hot when brewing; the pyramidal paper filter cup allows the coffee powder to be heated more evenly thanks to the seamless attachment of the filter paper to the complex multi-angle structure of the cup and its groovy design that stabilizes the water flow, lending itself to the release of the best aroma and taste of the coffee powder during hand-brewing.

Such a tool is simply straightforwardly named ORIGAMI and this term referring to the well-established traditional Japanese craft of paper folding is now inexplicably applicable to the making of coffee, in a stunningly beautiful manner.

Created about four years ago and structurally optimized in 2017, the coffee filter was masterminded by Yasuo Suzuki, designer cum founder of TRUNK Coffee Bar from Nagoya, Japan.

“Coffee tools have always been masculine,” described Suzuki. “I want to design a filter cup that makes everyone feel good and attract everyone to use it, including girls, then adults and children will be happy.”

Before his presence, no one would associate Nagoya with coffee, on the ground of the city’s time-honoured fame on the prevalence of old-fashioned teahouses with scarce establishment of independent coffee shops. Despite the third wave coffee boom in Tokyo and Osaka, the coffee industry in Nagoya remained stagnant and nostalgic.

Nevertheless, everything changed because of Suzuki's “coffee tour”. There is a somewhat legendary story behind when coffee changes Suzuki thoroughly before reshaping Nagoya: Fond of travelling and hence working in a travel agency after his graduation from college, Suzuki eventually decided to move out of Nagoya before his age of 30 as he could not tolerate the boredom from work. He has stayed in Malta in Southern Europe for four years, during which he came into contact with the foreign coffee culture and began to dream: Can I become a coffee barista?

Consequently, he traveled again, leaving Malta for Denmark to learn how to make coffee.

The seemingly passionate story does involve blood, sweat and tears. Since no coffee shops were willing to hire Suzuki, he worked as a volunteer on basic skill practice in a somewhat historic coffee shop every day. His effort paying half a year later, he was finally officially hired as the first Japanese barista in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Not lazy at all even at his free time, he always sought ideas from professional baristas in The Coffee Collective, a highly popular coffee shop in the city.

Upon his return to Japan in 2012, Suzuki helped the Norwegian coffee shop Fuglen to set up its branch in Tokyo. Surprisingly, the café became a hit, along with the very hot moment seeing the third coffee wave. Two years passed and Suzuki came up with a new plan: heading back home of Nagoya where coffee culture was yet to mushroom and opening his own café to interpret his own coffee stories.

Since the launch of the TRUNK Coffee Bar, Nagoya has finally seen a relaxing space for coffee enjoyment and exploration, attracting coffee lovers to join and scenting the city with coffee aroma in the years to come.

More than a coffee shop, TRUNK Coffee Bar is a spotlight that highlights Nagoya in the worldwide stage of coffee, which tells the reason he wants to design, and to co-produce with the craftsmen from Gifu, some coffee-related utensils and hence coffee manages to express the good of Nagoya and the central part of Japan.

TRUNK, synonymous with the must-have luggage for travellers, means the thick core of a tree, symbolising the solid and ever-expanding growth of the coffee culture in the city, testified by the presence of three shop outlets in Nagoya and Suzuki’s incessant worldwide travel with the aromatic and tasteful introduction of his hometown with his origami filter cups.

TRUNK Coffee Bar: http://www.trunkcoffee.com/